Day 29 – 28/2/17 – Chest

Time to get back working out. Feels like I haven’t done it in ages but I have to keep reminding myself I am still being pretty active. Last week I trained on Monday, worked out Tuesday and Wednesday, played a hockey match on Thursday and Saturday. So Friday and Sunday were my only rests really and Sunday I was on my feet all day running between pitches trying to coach 5 teams at once without much food all day.

I got home from work in the evening and felt sluggish. I ended up playing Fifa for a while and forced myself to workout quite late, though I did it at home rather than going to the gym.

I think you can get a pretty good workout in at home with limited equipment, especially upper body as there are lots of bodyweight and dumbbell exercises you can do.

I invested in some adjustable dumbbells a couple of years ago, giving you a whole dumbbell rack in one essentially, with weight selectable from 5kg to 32.5kg at the twist of a dial, for about £200 instead of the thousands a full rack will cost and taking up hardly any space.

Dumbbells

I also have an adjustable bench but that is back at my mum’s as there isn’t really the space in my place for it and wouldn’t want to piss off my housemate clogging up space with it.

So this is the workout I did:

  • Dumbbell Press On Floor – 10kg/15, 15kg/12, 25kg/6, 25kg/4, 22.5kg/6
  • Push Up – 10, 8, 6
  • Dumbbell Fly On Floor – 15kg/8, 15kg/8, 15kg/8
  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 12.5kg/8, 12.5kg/8, 12.5kg/8
  • Dumbbell Lateral Raise – 7.5kg/8, 7.5kg/8, 7.5kg/8
  • Dumbbell Front Raise – 7.5kg/8, 7.5kg/8, 7.5kg/8
  • Dumbbell Bent Over Tricep Extension – 7.5kg/12, 10kg/12, 12.5kg/12

One thing I did find difficult with my shoulder was getting the dumbbells up for the presses when lying on the floor. Your elbows dig into the hard floor so that isn’t too pleasant and you can’t exactly dump the weights down when you are finished like you might be able to on an industrial gym mat. So there are some cons with working out at home. But still it was a good workout and is challenging the muscles more than just sitting there doing nothing.

Leave a Reply

