Day 10 – 9/2/17 – Chest

Man did I nearly pull out of this one. I was telling myself excuses and to be fair I was absolutely shattered but I just had to think long term.  It’s all you have to do, visualise your goals and think, one hour out of my day, pushing myself, or don’t bother and possibly start the slippery road to giving up or setting yourself back further.

So I put on my favourite motivational video at the moment, got pumped and got myself down the gym at 21:30: 

There’s something about this vid that gets me focused and psyched up. The music, big Arnie’s words, just makes me feel so ready to absolutely crush it. Whatever motivates you use it!

The gym was surprisingly busy when I got there for the time of night, however there was another thing that motivated me when I got there, which was some guys doing some bodyweight exercises. There were a couple of guys, clearly trying to outdo one another and impress each other, doing things like handstands, muscle up attempts and one arm clean and jerks. The guys who can do this sort of thing may not look like Arnie but they can do things he never could as they are two totally different forms of working out and body conditioning.

Yes I want to look relatively impressive in my physique but as I have stated I want that body to be functional. I want to be strong but not a powerlifter. Subtly impressive I guess.

So back onto my workout after first warming up my rotator cuffs:

  • Barbell Bench Press – 40kg/10, 50kg/6, 50kg/6, 50kg/5
  • Dumbbell Incline Bench Press – 15kg/8, 17kg/6, 17kg/6
  • Dumbbell Fly – 16kg/7, 17kg/6, 17kg/6
  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 15kg/8, 17kg/5, 17kg/5
  • Dumbbell Lateral Raise – 12kg/5, 12kg/5, 12kg/5
  • Cable Rope Face Pull – 57kg/8, 57kg/8, 57kg/8
  • Cable Rope Triceps Pushdown – 32kg/10, 43kg/6, 43kg/5
  • L-sit on Parallettes – 3 sets as long as I could hold

Seeing the guys doing their bodyweight stuff made me want to start again, so I mixed in the L-sits at the end just to see if I could still do them….and I could just about.

Will start putting them and frog sits into my workouts/just at home whenever I feel like it to start training my body.

My protein has arrived so can check out some recipes for some protein bars next week and see what I can knock up!

Leave a Reply

