Day 8 – 7/2/17 – Legs

Got back in the gym and felt so much better for it. Was starting to feel like I had failed already even though I had only been out of the gym for a few days. We are back on.

Also did some making of snacks. Don’t really know how to describe it because there was no cooking or baking involved, so I guess it would just be preparing.  I made some oat and raisin snack balls with almond butter to keep me going during the day at work in a relatively healthy way.

The balls taste well good and they are perfect for a quick satisfying bite to eat. The oats will help to fill you up and there’s some protein in there from the almond butter and the oats themselves.  I think next time I will need to use more almond butter as the balls were a little dry and struggled to stay in shape without crumbling apart. I was just reluctant when the tub cost £9.

oatandraisin

After my experiment in the kitchen I made my way to the gym to get on week 2, with a focus more on strength this week:

  • Barbell Squat – 50kg/10, 70kg/8, 90kg/5, 90kg/5, 90kg/5
  • Dumbbell Lunges – 22kg/6, 22kg/6, 22kg/6
  • Leg extensions – 55kg/8, 61kg/8, 68kg/8
  • Barbell Stiff-Legged Deadlift – 70kg/6, 90kg/5, 90kg/5
  • Lying Leg Curls – 55kg/6, 55kg/6, 55kg/6
  • Leg Press – 150kg/6, 180kg/5, 180kg/5

Less exercises this week than last, as I focused on the heavier weights in the core exercises. Had a little more rest in between sets too so that I could recover a bit more strength.

Already feeling a bit tender in the legs the day after so I am expecting horrendous DOMS again, but fingers crossed I am not walking like a cripple every day.

Tonight will be a focus on back just like last week, this time with the focus on strength. I really want a strong back as that is one of the cores for a lot of the bodyweight exercises I want to be able to do.

Leave a Reply

