Day 2 – 1/2/17 – Back, Biceps, Abs

Day 2…we are on a roll here people. Two days on the bounce to the gym, not half bad considering my recent form. Went a little bit earlier today, around 21:30 so I am back at a more reasonable hour, giving me time to update you all before a good night’s rest.

There was talk of going before work tomorrow but let’s all calm down and not get ahead of ourselves. The evening should work fine.

Today went pretty well as it turns out, some news at work which has the potential to be pretty good for me so I am feeling positive about that aspect of my life…for the time being. That led to me being even more pumped to get down the gym and bash out a session.

Just remember even if you’re day hasn’t been great still try to make the effort to go down the gym or do some exercise because it’s going to release those endorphins and make you feel happier, as well as giving you that sense of achievement. Good things that are really worth it take time and hard work.

Had plans to eat really well today and on the whole I did. Started  off with scrambled eggs, salmon and toasted wholegrain bagel from Abokado, however lunch I was tempted by the carby delights of Carluccios with my mate at work. So big pot of pasta and a Danio yoghurt for a bit of protein. Dinner though I made a tasty dish from Gousto which I will be adding on a separate post, so all good.

photo-01-02-2017-13-06-34

On to the workout!

Today was a focus on the back and I am still on my first microcycle so sitting in that 8-12 rep range, getting my body back into regularly working out and seeing if we can start stimulating some change.

  • Barbell Deadlift – 50kg/10, 60kg/10, 70kg/8, 70kg/8, 70kg/8
  • Barbell Bent Over Row – 40kg/10, 50kg/8, 50kg/8
  • Cable Straight Arm Push Down – 36kg/10, 50kg/8, 50kg/8
  • Barbell Curl – 20kg/10, 20kg/10, 20kg/10
  • Dumbbell Incline Curl – 7kg/10, 9kg/8, 9kg/8
  • Barbell Preacher Curl – 20kg/10, 20kg/10, 20kg/10
  • Wide Grip Lat Pulldown – 55kg/8, 55kg/8, 50.3kg/8
  • Parallel Bar Leg Raise – 10, 10, 10
  • Cable Crunch – 23kg/12, 36kg/12, 50kg/12

photo-01-02-2017-22-08-37

As you can see my weights are a little all over the place and some are a little light probably. This is because I may not have done the exercises for a while (or at all) and don’t know what I can lift. This is all part of the discovery for me, we are on the first session of each body split, so moving forwards we will have a better idea of what weights we can do.

Home, protein shake, shower, bed. Ready for third day in a row before a break on Friday due to my hockey coaching in the evening.

Leave a Reply

